Since 2004 the MainPower Youth Sports Scholarships have been helping local talented sportspeople achieve their goals and perform to the best of their ability. The scholarships also promote a culture of sporting success and excellence throughout the North Canterbury and Kaikoura regions.

Ten finalists are selected who each receive a $2,000 scholarship. From the finalists, a winner and two runners up are chosen who each receive a further $5,000 and $2,500 respectively. Scholarship nominations are called annually in July and awarded at the MainPower North Canterbury Sports Awards in November.

Entry information is available from the North Canterbury Sport & Recreation Trust.

2018 MainPower Youth Sports Scholars

  • Gabrielle Rennie - Football (Overall Winner)
  • George Howat - Rowing (Runner-Up)
  • Rebecca Jones - Archery (Runner-up)
  • Helen Jones - Basketball
  • Macey Fraser - Football and Futsal
  • Luke Hopkinson - Wrestling
  • Angus Kelliher - Swimming
  • Tegen Bishop -  Surfing
  • Kazuma Kobori - Golf
  • Layla Bailey-McDowell - Softball